Tags

, , , , ,

Listen to the song below.

This video has carried me through this entire year. Besides the fact that Melinda Watt’s voice can’t help but lift your spirit, over and over the words of this song pointed me back to the core of my faith: my carpenter friend – Christ. The trials of the year two thousand and ten stripped me of many things and threatened to strip me of this single most important part of my life; but it didn’t. 

All the accessories (and forgive me for calling them accessories) are gone right now. The singing (worshipping) throughout the day; daily reading of the Bible for truth; longer, more earnest prayers; ministry and other things that engendered ‘intimacy’ with God and which defined my walk with Him have all but vanished, somehow. I thought my faith was being eroded as each of these practices waned under life’s pressure. With each blow, something else crumbled and eventually, I felt I was left with nothing to stand on.

But nothing was further from the truth because I still believed. It’s only as I’ve neared the last day of the year that I’ve realized that I do have something to stand on: the great love of the incarnate Christ, expressed in His crucifixion, resurrection and ascension – the core of my faith. Yes, the great treasure of my life is still mine, still mine...I can’t fully tell you how grieved I have been over this, how lost and guilt ridden. To know that His love still looms over my life without all the trappings I held so dear is amazing to me. Nothing and no-one can strip me of that.

So, as I face the year two thousand and eleven, I know I stand securely on Christ who is the foundation on which my life is built. Don’t worry though, I will work hard to rebuild some of the things I lost this year, but even without them, I stand.

{I DEDICATE THIS POST TO MY GRANDFATHER WHO I LOVE AND MISS. WISH YOU WERE STILL HERE…HAPPY BIRTHDAY}

