Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Presently, my husband is terminally ill. As such, we’ve been discussing a change of diet to include a lot more fruits and vegetables. From my hits on Google, I discovered that carrots consistently rank as one of the top foods to consume, whether in sickness or in health. And the best way to take advantage of their highly nutritious properties is to juice them, allowing for better absorption.

As a child, the most common benefit I had heard of is that carrots – being rich in vitamin A – are good for your eyes. And, indeed they are. But, their benefits don’t end there. Carrots are as rich in vitamin C, D, E, B1, and B6 as they are in potassium, calcium, magnesium, phosphorous and much more. Besides regulating blood sugar levels, they are a good source of anti-oxidants which help heal the body of acne, anemia, constipation, and even cancer.

GREAT!  More carrots for everyone!

All this talk about the benefits of carrots reminded me of five words that had been resonating in my mind about a week ago: forget not all his benefits. The words come from Psalm 103:2. Sometimes my carpenter friend plugs some of his words into my system and puts them on repeat: Forget not all his benefits. Forget not all his benefits.

What benefits are these? Well, when I read some verses of the psalm, I found a few.  Without them, my body, my husband’s body, our souls – our lives – would be impoverished.

2 Praise the LORD, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits-

5 who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

3 who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,

4 who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion

Everything I need to be forgiven of, he pardons; everything I need to be healed of, he heals. I may drink lots and lots of carrot juice. I may go to the doctor and have several successful procedures done; but ultimately, my carpenter friend is the one who will make me well…and my husband, too.

At this time, when sickness and feelings of hopelessness have not only knocked at the door of my life, but have taken up residence, I try to forget not all his benefits and completely depend on my friend. I know he will heal. I know he will redeem, love, show mercy, satisfy and renew the areas of our lives that need his touch.

I think that it’s GREAT to be able to freely receive all this and much, much more from my friend. He’ll give us what we need, when we need it – even if it means a whole, new lease on life…so, I say, more of my carpenter friend and his healing benefits for everyone!

