Tags

, , ,

 Since childhood, whenever I wake up in the morning, I have had a habit of folding my legs and flopping over with my forehead on the bed. Sometimes, I fall asleep again in that position. My husband thinks it’s strange, but has grown accustomed to it over the past twenty months.

In addition to flopping over, I have developed a habit of mumbling a few morning salutaions to my carpenter friend. I usually say, “Good morning, Lord.” At other times I may say something like, “I really need your help today because I don’t know what I’m doing,” or, like this morning, “I’m sorry, Lord, for…please forgive me.”

I find that my more honest moments with my friend are on the mornings when I mumble to him. He is the first person to hear my voice. He is the first person privy to the cares I went to sleep with and, or course, woke up with.

Whenever I begin my day with an open and honest conversation with my friend, the rest of my day is more peaceful and under control – even when problems come. Somehow, I worry less and become more productive with my time. It’s as if an exchange takes place, whether I ask for it, or not. I offload my problems and concerns; and my carpenter friend uploads his grace for me to do all that is required of me. Anything that comes, I can handle it with his help.

Even if I don’t know how to articulate my needs in mumbles, the fact that I go to him is enough because he knows exactly what I need. There have been times when I have told my husband that I wish I could express myself as well as he can in speech. Just yesterday, I deliberately gave my husband a look because of what he said to me (playfully). His response to my look was “use your words, hon,” (which got him another look).

It’s not easy, though, even for the most articulate person, to tell my friend what’s going on in life; what needs to change; why a certain experience hurts and doesn’t seem fair; or even to confess a wrong. The good news is, I don’t always have to know just what to say.

Through my morning encounters with my carpenter friend, I’ve realized that he understands every one of my sighs, groans and mumurs – even my silence. And he understands yours too, and will answer you. Just create (if you don’t already have one), a familiar place to meet him and he’ll be there whenever you are. Perhaps, your place could be behind your desk, at the kitchen counter, on your treadmill or the driver’s seat of the car. Wherever, whenever, spending even a few minutes with my friend, will make a big difference in a day, and in life.

