Tags

, , ,

…puzzle pieces. You always know what you’re gonna get”.

My husband and I received some discouraging, rather disconcerting news this week. During the phone call we received, I tried to remain positive and think whatsoever things are of good report thoughts. I wanted my faith to rise; I wanted to be strong; I wanted to see beyond what was happening at that moment to a better outcome. The reality was, though, that it didn’t; I wasn’t; and I couldn’t.

Now, because of the news and my response to the news, I was a little shaken. I needed a time-out, so I slept for a while. I sometimes try to sleep troubles away, which doesn’t work. So, as expected, when I woke up, I still felt nervous. You would think that I would find a corner (I’ve heard the bathroom is a good place) and talk to my friend about it, but I didn’t.

Instead, I asked the wonderful lady I’m staying with if she had any puzzles; and she did have quite a few. I chose a 500 piece ‘Ravensburger’ puzzle, called Rush Hour. It’s a picture of lots and lots of colourful fish. So, anyway, as I combed through the pieces, looking for the edges, I began to feel at ease, for two reasons: puzzles, crosswords and things like that are soothing to me, and, my friend joined me at the table and spoke to me, instead.

For the sake of your attention, I’ll list a few of my jigsaw techniques, if you will, that my friend used to shift my mindset.

  1. Be patient with the process.
  2. Even though the ‘big picture’ is in pieces, trust that all the pieces are there and will fit together in the end.
  3. Don’t force pieces that don’t fit together.
  4. Work on another section until you find what you’re looking for.
  5. If one direction doesn’t work, try another one.
  6. Don’t be afraid to unfit pieces that seem to fit together, but really don’t.

As I worked on the puzzle, my carpenter friend showed me a few other things:

  1. The right piece always seems to come just in time.
  2. Finishing is as hard as beginning.
  3. Sometimes with the big picture right in front of you (that is, the picture on the box), you can’t see what you’re making (on the table). You just have to trust that it will all come together somehow.

Life, in some ways, is like a box of puzzle pieces. We know, or at least have an idea of what ‘the end’ will look like (in life, or in a situation). It’s just hard sometimes to navigate through all the pieces.

With my friend, though, all things are possible, and he will see us through to the very end.

