Tags

, , ,

I’ve come to realize, by experience no less that location, location, location is very important in this world for several good reasons. People consider location when deciding on where to live; where to work; where to go to school; where to vacation; where to raise a family; where to get medical treatment and the list goes on. And once decided on a location, persons make plans to move and re-settle. Sometimes, the move involves traveling great distances, lasting anywhere from a few hours to many years, depending on the time period.

Well, my husband and I sometimes live 2,783 miles apart. It’s not easy, but Skype is GREAT! While we work on being settled somewhere, I periodically travel from location to location (Jamaica to California). In so doing, I’ve come to realize something else: my carpenter friend is always with me. Whether I’m living in Jamaica, traveling 2,783 miles by plane, or visiting California, my friend is there.

The person I call my carpenter friend goes by several other names and titles. One of them that makes me feel secure and thought of is ‘”…Immanuel” – which means God with us.’ (Matthew 1:23). My carpenter friend, Immanuel, is never afar off, no matter what location I choose to be in. He is present; but, not just to keep my company when my husband isn’t around. He is present to help me walk out my life journey with faith and courage.

When Moses died, my friend (who just seems to be everywhere), told Joshua that he had to take Moses’ place in leading the Israelites across the Jordan River and into the land promised to them. Now, the Jordan River, at its widest, is approximately 100 feet in width. It doesn’t sound like that much, but it was a dangerous river to cross. Some time before they crossed, my friend told Joshua, “As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you.” A few sentences down, he says, “Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Whether the Israelites traveled through the wilderness, crossed a river 100 feet wide, or lived in their Promised Land, the LORD, also my carpenter friend, was with them and helped them.

He gives that same promise to me and to you. He will be with us. He will help us to be strong and courageous through trials and sorrow, whether in this location or that, and always throughout all our earthly journeys – be it 2,783 miles or 100 feet.

