I could never ask for a better friend.

Yesterday morning, I sat down to eat breakfast with a heavy heart. There’s a lot happening in my life – well, really my dear husband’s life – that made me weary at the start of the day. I was alone that morning, so I clasped my hands, placing them against my forehead and cried over my hard boiled eggs. Not a sobbing cry, but the kind when tears just escape.

Between deep breaths, I began to speak to my friend who had come by to listen. I told him that I didn’t have the strength to make the beds. I didn’t want to bathe. I couldn’t wash the dishes that had piled up from dinner the day before. I was tired. My husband needed me and I was a mess. My life was not going according to plan. I didn’t have any money. The scriptures in the devotions didn’t mean anything to me. I didn’t feel like I could make it through the day.

“All I know is that I need you,” I said.

After a few more minutes of talking with my friend, I heard my husband come into the room. As I stood up and wiped my tears away with my back to him, he asked, “Ready for me to do the dishes?”

I was not able, at that point, to express to my husband what that meant to me; but later that evening, I told him. I told him how I started the day – in tears (it was strange that he hadn’t noticed). I told him how I poured out my heart to my friend and he listened to me. And not only did he listen, but he helped me.

While my husband did the dishes, I suddenly got the strength to take a shower, make the beds and straighten the rooms. My heart was lifted. I had peace and even felt happy. I could face the day.

As you can imagine, my friend is very dear to me. He is patient with me and gives me the strength to do the simplest of things. I depend on him to give me good advice and re-focus my attention on the important things in life – like a loving husband. In his own way, he just makes everything alright – even if it’s just dirty dishes.

I could never ask for a better friend. Jesus, you mean the world to me!

